Sep 30, 2023  
2021-22 Undergraduate Bulletin 
2021-22 Undergraduate Bulletin ARCHIVED

General Information


Governance and Accreditation

By legislative act, a nine-member Board of Regents appointed by the governor and confirmed by the Texas Senate governs Stephen F. Austin State University. Each member serves a six-year term, with three new appointments every two years. Each year the governor also appoints an SFA student as a non-voting member of the Board of Regents to serve a one-year term. This board elects all members of the administration, faculty and professional staff, and sets general policies for the university program.

Stephen F. Austin State University is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges to award baccalaureate, master’s, and doctoral degrees. Questions about the accreditation of Stephen F. Austin State University may be directed in writing to the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, Georgia 30033-4097, by calling (404) 679-4500, or by using information available on SACSCOC’s website.

Colleges and universities in the United States and all over the world recognize credit earned at Stephen F. Austin State University. Numerous programs of study at the university are accredited by specialized accrediting agencies. For accreditation of specific programs of study, see individual college pages in the Academic Units  section of this bulletin.


The Board of Regents

David R. Alders



Dr. Scott H. Coleman



Alton L. Frailey



Robert A. Flores 2021 Nacogdoches

Karen G. Gantt



Brigettee C. Henderson



M. Thomas Mason



Judy Larson Olson


The Woodlands

Jennifer Wade Winston



Ireland Bramhall, Student Regent



Officers of Administration

Scott Gordon, PhD


Lorenzo M. Smith, PhD

Provost/Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs

Marc S. Guidry, PhD

Associate Provost

Danny R. Gallant, PhD

Vice President for Finance and Administration

Brandon A. Frye, PhD

Vice President for Student Affairs

Jill Still, MBA, CFRE

Vice President for University Advancement

Michara DeLaney-Fields, PhD

Chief Diversity Officer

Graham Garner, MPA

Chief Marketing Communications Officer

Alumni Association

Craig Turnage

Executive Director of Alumni Relations

Research and Graduate Studies

Pauline M. Sampson, PhD

Dean of Research and Graduate Studies

Ralph W. Steen Library

Jonathan Helmke

Director of Library

Deans of Colleges

Mark Sanders, PhD

Interim Dean of the College of Liberal and Applied Arts

Timothy O. Bisping, PhD

Dean of the Nelson Rusche College of Business

Judy A. Abbott, PhD

Dean of the James I. Perkins College of Education

Gary Wurtz, DMA

Interim Dean of the College of Fine Arts

Hans M. Williams, PhD

Dean of the Arthur Temple College of Forestry and Agriculture

Kimberly M. Childs, PhD

Dean of the College of Sciences and Mathematics

Student Affairs

Hollie Smith

Interim Dean of Student Affairs

University Mission

Stephen F. Austin State University is a comprehensive institution dedicated to excellence in teaching, research, scholarship, creative work and service. Through the personal attention of our faculty and staff, we engage our students in a learner-centered environment and offer opportunities to prepare for the challenges of living in the global community.