Jun 17, 2024  
2018-19 Undergraduate Bulletin 
2018-19 Undergraduate Bulletin ARCHIVED

General Information


Governance and Accreditation

By legislative act, a nine-member Board of Regents appointed by the governor and confirmed by the Texas Senate governs Stephen F. Austin State University. Each member serves a six-year term, with three new appointments every two years. Each year the governor also appoints an SFA student as a non-voting member of the Board of Regents to serve a one-year term. This board elects all members of the administration, faculty and professional staff, and sets general policies for the university program.

Stephen F. Austin State University is accredited by the Commission on Colleges of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools, 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, Georgia 30033-4097, and telephone number (404) 679-4501, to award degrees at the bachelor’s, master’s and doctoral levels.

Colleges and universities in the United States and all over the world recognize credit earned at Stephen F. Austin State University. Numerous programs of study at the university are accredited by specialized accrediting agencies. For accreditation of specific programs of study, see individual college pages in the Academic Units  section of this bulletin.


The Board of Regents

David R. Alders 2019 Nacogdoches
Nelda Luce Blair 2021 The Woodlands
Dr. Scott H. Coleman 2021 Houston
Alton L. Frailey 2021 Katy
Karen G. Gantt 2023 McKinney
John R. “Bob” Garrett 2019 Tyler
Brigettee C. Henderson 2023 Lufkin
M. Thomas Mason 2023 Dallas
Kenton E. Schaefer 2019 Brownsville
Maggie J. Wright, Student Regent 2018 Flower Mound

Officers of Administration

Baker Pattillo, Ph.D. President
Steve H. Bullard, Ph.D. Provost/Vice President for Academic Affairs
Mary Nelle Brunson, Ed.D. Associate Provost
Janet Tareilo, Ed.D. Associate Provost
Danny R. Gallant, Ph.D. Vice President for Finance and Administration
Steven B. Westbrook, Ed.D. Vice President for University Affairs
Jill Still, M.B.A. Vice President for University Advancement

Alumni Association

Craig Turnage Executive Director of Alumni Relations

Graduate Studies

Pauline M. Sampson, Ph.D. Dean of Research and Graduate Studies

Ralph W. Steen Library

Shirley Dickerson, Ed.D. Director of Library

Deans of Colleges

Brian M. Murphy, Ph.D. Dean of the College of Liberal and Applied Arts
Timothy O. Bisping, Ph.D. Dean of the Nelson Rusche College of Business
Judy A. Abbott, Ph.D. Dean of the James I. Perkins College of Education
Addison C. Himes, Ph.D. Dean of the College of Fine Arts
Hans M. Williams, Ph.D. Dean of the Arthur Temple College of Forestry and Agriculture
Kimberly M. Childs, Ph.D. Dean of the College of Sciences and Mathematics

Student Affairs

Adam E. Peck, Ph.D. Dean of Student Affairs

University Mission

Stephen F. Austin State University is a comprehensive institution dedicated to excellence in teaching, research, scholarship, creative work and service. Through the personal attention of our faculty and staff, we engage our students in a learner-centered environment and offer opportunities to prepare for the challenges of living in the global community.