Apr 14, 2024  
2020-21 Undergraduate Bulletin 
2020-21 Undergraduate Bulletin ARCHIVED

General Information


Governance and Accreditation

By legislative act, a nine-member Board of Regents appointed by the governor and confirmed by the Texas Senate governs Stephen F. Austin State University. Each member serves a six-year term, with three new appointments every two years. Each year the governor also appoints an SFA student as a non-voting member of the Board of Regents to serve a one-year term. This board elects all members of the administration, faculty and professional staff, and sets general policies for the university program.

Stephen F. Austin State University is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges to award baccalaureate, master’s, and doctoral degrees. Contact the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, Georgia 30033-4097 or call (404) 679-4500 for questions about the accreditation of SFA.​

Colleges and universities in the United States and all over the world recognize credit earned at Stephen F. Austin State University. Numerous programs of study at the university are accredited by specialized accrediting agencies. For accreditation of specific programs of study, see individual college pages in the Academic Units  section of this bulletin.


The Board of Regents

David R. Alders



Dr. Scott H. Coleman



Alton L. Frailey



Karen G. Gantt



Brigettee C. Henderson



M. Thomas Mason



Judy Larson Olson


The Woodlands

Jennifer Wade Winston



Zoé Smiley, Student Regent



Officers of Administration

Scott Gordon, Ph.D.


Steve H. Bullard, Ph.D.

Provost/Vice President for Academic Affairs

Marc S. Guidry, Ph.D.

Associate Provost

Danny R. Gallant, Ph.D.

Vice President for Finance and Administration

Steven B. Westbrook, Ed.D.

Vice President for University Affairs

Jill Still, M.B.A., CFRE

Vice President for University Advancement

Alumni Association

Craig Turnage

Executive Director of Alumni Relations

Graduate Studies

Pauline M. Sampson, Ph.D.

Dean of Research and Graduate Studies

Ralph W. Steen Library

Jonathan Helmke

Director of Library

Deans of Colleges

Brian M. Murphy, Ph.D.

Dean of the College of Liberal and Applied Arts

Timothy O. Bisping, Ph.D.

Dean of the Nelson Rusche College of Business

Judy A. Abbott, Ph.D.

Dean of the James I. Perkins College of Education

Addison C. Himes, Ph.D.

Dean of the College of Fine Arts

Hans M. Williams, Ph.D.

Dean of the Arthur Temple College of Forestry and Agriculture

Kimberly M. Childs, Ph.D.

Dean of the College of Sciences and Mathematics

Student Affairs

Adam E. Peck, Ph.D.

Dean of Student Affairs

University Mission

Stephen F. Austin State University is a comprehensive institution dedicated to excellence in teaching, research, scholarship, creative work and service. Through the personal attention of our faculty and staff, we engage our students in a learner-centered environment and offer opportunities to prepare for the challenges of living in the global community.