Apr 21, 2024  
2018-19 Graduate Bulletin 
2018-19 Graduate Bulletin ARCHIVED


Administration and Accreditation

By legislative act, a nine-member Board of Regents, appointed by the governor and confirmed by the Texas Senate, governs Stephen F. Austin State University. Each member serves a six-year term with three new appointments every two years. Each year, the governor also appoints an SFA student as a non-voting member of the Board of Regents to serve a one-year term. This board elects all members of the administration, faculty and professional staff, and sets general policies for the university’s programs.

Stephen F. Austin State University is accredited by the Commission on Colleges of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, GA, 3033-4097: Telephone number 404-679-4504) to award degrees at the bachelor’s, master’s and doctoral levels. It also holds accreditation by and membership in the AACSB International - The Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business, Academy for Certification of Vision, Rehabilitation, and Education Professionals, the Alpha Chi National Scholarship Society, the American Association of State Colleges and Universities, the American Association of Colleges for Teacher Education, the American Dietetics Association, the Council on Academic Accreditation in Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology, the Association of Texas Colleges and Universities, the Association of Texas Graduate Schools, the Council of Southern Graduate Schools, Computing Accreditation Commission of the Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology Inc., the Council on Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs, the Council of Graduate Departments of Psychology, the Council on Rehabilitation Education, the Council on Social Work Education, the International Union of Forestry Research Organizations, the National Association for Education of Young Children, the National Association of Schools of Art and Design, the National Association of Schools of Music, the National Association for Sport and Physical Education, the National Collegiate Honors Council, the National Communication Association, the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education, the Society of American Foresters, the Southwest Education Council for Journalism and Mass Communication, the Texas Association of Music Schools, the Texas Association of Schools of Art, the Texas Music Educator’s Association, the Texas Music Educators Conference, and the Texas Educational Theatre Association.

  Board of Regents
David R. Alders 2019 Nacogdoches
Nelda Luce Blair 2021 The Woodlands
Dr. Scott H. Coleman 2021 Houston
Alton L. Frailey 2021 Katy
Karen G. Gantt 2023 McKinney
John R. “Bob” Garrett 2019 Tyler
Brigettee C. Henderson 2023 Lufkin
M. Thomas Mason 2023 Dallas
Kenton E. Schaefer 2019 Brownsville
Maggie J. Wright 2018 Flower Mound


  Officers of the Board
David Alders Chair
Brigettee Henderson Vice Chair
Alton Frailey Secretary


  Officers of Administration
Baker Pattillo, Ph.D. President
Stephen Bullard, Ph.D. Provost/Vice President for Academic Affairs
Mary Nelle Brunson, Ed.D. Associate Provost
Janet Tareilo, Ed.D. Associate Provost
Danny R. Gallant, Ph.D. Vice President for Finance and Administration
Steven B. Westbrook, Ed.D. Vice President for University Affairs
Jill Still, CFRE Vice President for University Advancement


  Alumni Association
Craig Turnage Executive Director of Alumni Affairs


  Ralph W. Steen Library
Shirley Dickerson, Ed.D. Director of the Library


  Deans of Colleges
Timothy Bisping, Ph.D. Dean, Nelson Rusche College of Business
Judy A. Abbott, Ph.D. Dean, James I. Perkins College of Education
A.C. Himes, Ph.D. Dean, College of Fine Arts
Hans Williams, Ph.D. Dean, Arthur Temple College of Forestry and Agriculture
Brian M. Murphy, Ph.D. Dean, College of Liberal and Applied Arts
Kimberly M. Childs, Ph.D. Dean, College of Sciences and Mathematics
Pauline Sampson, Ph.D. Dean, Office of Research and Graduate Studies

Graduate Council

The principal advisory body for graduate education at Stephen F. Austin State University is the Graduate Council, chaired by the dean of the Office of Research and Graduate Studies.

The Graduate Council shall consist of six elected and three appointed members of the graduate faculty. Each college shall elect one representative from the regular members of the graduate faculty in that college. Three members shall be appointed by the dean of Research and Graduate Studies, subject to the principle of proportionate representation from each college on the basis of regular members of the graduate faculty in the respective colleges, and subject further to the approval of the provost and vice president for academic affairs.

Both elected and appointed members of the council shall serve three-year terms. The terms shall be staggered in order to ensure that only one-third of the terms expire each year. Should there be over- representation of any one-term year, an adjustment will be made through the designation of two-year term elections. Should such an adjustment be necessary, the membership will be surveyed to identify those members whose term will be adjusted. Upon the expiration of a term, the council member is ineligible for re-election or reappointment for three years.

A vacancy on the council shall be filled by election or appointment, whichever is applicable to the position vacated. Should a vacancy occur at such a time when the unfilled portion of a member’s term is one academic year or less, the chair of the University Graduate Council may appoint a regular member of the graduate faculty from the appropriate college to fill the partial term. Under these circumstances, the person appointed to fill the partial term shall be eligible for re-election or reappointment.

The registrar, the director of libraries, a representative of the faculty senate and a graduate student shall be ex-officio, non-voting members of the council. Other ex-officio, non-voting members may be appointed to the council as determined by the dean of Research and Graduate Studies with the approval of the provost and vice president for academic affairs.

  Graduate Council  
Pauline Sampson, Ph.D. Dean of Research and Graduate Studies Chair
Scott LaGraff, D.M.A. Fine Arts Elected
Mitzi Perritt, Ph.D. Education Elected
Stephen Mullin, Ph.D. Science and Mathematics Elected
Joyce Johnston, Ph.D. Liberal and Applied Arts Appointed
Mitch Crocker, Ph.D. Business Elected
Jeremy Stovall, Ph.D. Forestry and Agriculture Elected
Jeannie Gresham, Ed.D. Education Appointed
Philip Catton, Ph.D. Liberal and Applied Arts Appointed
Scott Bailey, Ed.D. Education Appointed
Lynda Langham, M.B.A. Registrar Ex Officio
Shirley Dickerson, Ed.D. Library Director Ex Officio
Jason Reese, Ph.D. Faculty Senate Representative Ex Officio
Colleen Starrs Graduate Student Representative Appointed