Mar 05, 2024  
2018-19 Undergraduate Bulletin 
2018-19 Undergraduate Bulletin ARCHIVED

School of Theatre

Cleo House Jr., director
Griffith Fine Arts Building, Room 212B
Phone: (936) 468-4003
Fax: (936) 468-7601
P.O. Box 6090, SFA Station
Nacogdoches, TX 75962


Angela Bacarisse, Richard Jones, Scott Shattuck

Associate Professors
Carolyn Conn, Cleo House Jr.

Assistant Professors
B. Slade Billew, Inga Meier, Kenneth Verdugo

Visiting Assistant Professor
Rosie Brownlow-Catlin

Jennifer Malmberg, Brad Maule, Jackie Rosenfeld

Shari Watterston Ellsworth, David Raine

Jack Heifner

Areas of Study and Degrees

The School of Theatre offers a degree program for students wishing to incorporate the study of theatre within the liberal arts tradition, one for students wishing to teach theatre, and one for students wishing to pursue a professional career in theatre. Our degree programs include Bachelor of Arts in theatre, a liberal arts degree with theatre emphasis; Bachelor of Arts leading to certification for teaching theatre, kindergarten through 12th grade; Bachelor of Fine Arts in theatre, a more intensive course of study in acting and directing (performance), in technical theatre and design or in stage management. The school also offers an 18 to 24 hour minor program of study.


We believe that through theatre anyone can become a successful, contributing member of the global community and that theatre is an essential asset to the university’s culture and curriculum.

We are dedicated to excellence in teaching, learning and doing theatre continuously and intensively, in many different ways. Our courses, productions and relationships work together to develop students who analyze incisively, feel deeply, create boldly and interact responsibly.

Our chief purpose is to train diverse professionals to do and teach theatre and related fields, and our graduates thrive in a wide range of careers.